PDA

View Full Version : A question about Duchess....

carole
01-09-2006, 07:27 PM
I have already spoken to the vets nurse yesterday, but still i would like some opinions from you all here, Duchess is very swollen with milk, she is about bursting, I know this must be uncomfortable for her, but I was told it will take up to week and just to keep an eye on each teat, to make sure there is no extra swelling or hotness etc, now i am far from an expert here, she does look very full and is sticking out each side, because of this situation she will be spayed tomorrow on the side, which is fine, but what i want to ask is there a pill or something the vet can give her to dry her up quicker with little side effects or is it just a waiting game, it is a shame we could not wean her babies off her, but it was the only thing we could do given the circumstances, shame too because at the shelter there are two week old babies with no mother being hand fed, and here she is overflowing with milk, still we can only do what we can can't we?

Would appreciate any other advice from anyone who has dealt with this before, thank you.

moosmom
01-10-2006, 11:44 AM
Carole,

Gee, that's a hard one. I think maybe your best bet is to ask the vet. Is there anyway you can put off spaying her and putting the 2 week old babies in with her to nurse??? That would be the most idealistic plan.

Keep us posted. ;)

Husky_mom
01-10-2006, 01:18 PM
just what i was going to say, nurse the 2wk kittens........

once one of my previous dogs got a fake preg and was bursting with milk (and there were no puppies to nurse i searched for orphans also) so i decided to "milk" her so she was more confortable and relieved after a few days she was back to normal.

carole
01-10-2006, 02:56 PM