PDA

View Full Version : what to feed older sick kitty

jonny166
03-28-2002, 03:26 PM
Hi, i am new here this is my first time posting and im sorry it will be a bit long. I have a cat who is atleast 15 (not sure of exact age as it was inherited with house). He has been diagnosed with asthma as well as a heart murmer. He also has an anxiety disorder which causes him to lick all the hair off his legs and makes him very anxious and shy. but none the less we love him very much. My question relates to his diet. He has horrendous teeth, but the vet says due to his age/heart condition he cant be sedated for teeth cleaning. I have tried the cat teeth cleaning kits but these upset him so much he hides for days afterward and just shakes the whole time. The reason his teeth are so bad is becuase he wont chew his food, he swallows it whole (which also makes him vomit constantly). Well if anyone has any suggestions about how to care for this or a good food let me know, we and the vet are out of ideas. thanks a lot =]

04-19-2002, 06:34 AM
hi Jonny !!
Welcome to Pettalk !!!

About your cat now ; have you tried the dry food especially made for elder cats ? They usually have some tooth missing and cannot chew very well !!
I wish you all the best with this !!

lynnestankard
04-19-2002, 10:23 AM
Hello Johnny and a big welcome to Pet Talk - I'm sure a little chat to your vet could help a great deal.
If your cat's having trouble with his teeth and because of his age maybe he could be put on a 'wet' food - or even chicken and rice, which a lot of older cats seem to prefer - especially minced, no proper chewing involved!
By the way whats the name of your furkid?

Lynne

jonny166
04-20-2002, 11:15 AM