PDA

View Full Version : Ginger has a sore foot

Ginger's Mom
11-01-2005, 08:56 PM
Ginger has hurt her foot somehow (right front foot). I feel bad because I noticed it was bothering her this weekend, but I didn't see anything wrong and she was still running around and playing, so I didn't do anything about it. Yesterday she started limping, today she is really limping and won't play. Whenever we come in from a walk she spends a good ten minutes licking it. Yes, I am going to call the vet tomorrow. I wasn't sure if I should wrap it or anything, because I don't really know what it wrong, and I am not good at wrapping things anyway. Can I give her anything for the pain (I am assuming there is pain) until we see the vet? I really don't know a whole lot about injuries or illnesses.

HollywoodNVegas
11-01-2005, 09:38 PM
Ginger very well could have something stuck in her foot or could have hurt it in another way. In the event something could be lodged, I would NOT wrap it - that may only cause more pain and swelling. How much does she weigh? She could safely have one-half of a tablet of Children's Aspirin. ASPIRIN ONLY! Also make sure it does not have any other combinations with it (allergy, cold, etc.)

Ginger's Mom
11-01-2005, 09:42 PM
Thanks for your response. I wasn't sure if she was allowed to have aspirin, I had a vague recollection that it may be dangerous for them. I appreciate your help, I will see if I have any plain aspirin (or run to the corner store if I do not). Oh and she is kind of porky at 34 pounds. :eek: So size-wise I think it would be alright. Thank you again.

PJ's Mom
11-01-2005, 11:39 PM
Ginger, I hope your boo boo foot gets better soon. :)

Does she still have her dewclaws? Bailey hurts her little thumb every so often and we have to go see the vet about it. He usually gives her a small cortisone injection and she's feeling fine the next day. :)

Glacier
11-02-2005, 12:17 AM