PDA

View Full Version : Light on Snow discussion

finn's mom
10-25-2005, 11:38 AM
Here are three questions to open up the discussion for October's book... keep in mind, I'm new to this, if anyone has any suggestions or wants to briefly take the reins from me to steer us in a better direction, please feel free. ;) There are questions at the back of the book, and, I'm posting the first three today...

1. Nicky notes near the beginning of Light on Snow that her father actively avoids civilization, yet when they find Baby Doris he quickly breaks out of his self-imposed exile to help save the abandoned infant. Why do you think he chooses to become so involved in this situation?

I think because he's lost his own small child, that he feels maybe obligated to help this child, or maybe because he's subconsciously aware of the life he's basically taken from his own daughter, that he should help the baby. And, morally, I don't think he really even has a choice in something like this. I don't think he really gets all that involved in the situation anyway...he finds the baby and takes her to the hospital. He doesn't get too much more involved than that until the mother shows up on his doorstep, and, then, he's sort of forced into being involved.

2. Discuss the relationship between Nicky and her father as the novel opens. In what ways is their relationship unique? In what ways does it reflect or subvert the traditional roles of parent and child?

Geez, it's been so long since I read it, and, I don't have the book in front of me, now! Um...I'd say that in a lot of ways, her father (was his name Robert?) wasn't really parenting her. She was relatively self sufficient, and, possibly even parenting him in some ways.