PDA

View Full Version : from crate to loose in the house

cfuh
03-20-2002, 02:41 PM
Does anyone know how to transition a dog from a crate to loose around the house while I'm not home? Thanks!

DoggiesAreTheBest
03-20-2002, 03:05 PM
Dixieland Dancer could probably help you out! her Dusty has just earned his freedom from the crate. She will have some good tips for you.

hobird58
03-20-2002, 04:00 PM
I need to know this too. Sierra is 5 months now, but we have been trying her loose in the house a little at a time. Is it too soon for this? She has done really well for and hour or so at a time. Is there an age for doing this? Will she always sleep in the crate or do you take it away when they are old enough.

as you can tell I am new to crate training, but so far I have loved it.

S & S

Sal and Sierra

cfuh
03-20-2002, 04:12 PM
I think she will need to be older since larger dogs don't mature until 2yrs but I could be totally wrong. My Sammie's only 3 months. Sierra is such a cutie!!! :)

Originally posted by hobird58
I need to know this too. Sierra is 5 months now, but we have been trying her loose in the house a little at a time. Is it too soon for this? She has done really well for and hour or so at a time. Is there an age for doing this? Will she always sleep in the crate or do you take it away when they are old enough.

as you can tell I am new to crate training, but so far I have loved it.

S & S

Sal and Sierra

AdoreMyDogs
03-20-2002, 04:43 PM
I need to know this too! Candy...where are you....you are being paged....Hello Candy.....are you there???? :)

I want Kersey out of her kennel and to have free roam. She seems to be really trustworthy but she may have a bit of seperation anxiety due to her re-homing situations. She has already graduated out of the crate at night time and it's going really well.

Karen
03-20-2002, 09:54 PM