PDA

View Full Version : Why Pounds?

dane_mom
09-06-2005, 12:46 PM
I absoulutly do not think of a pound as a good place!! If all the pounds in the world were out together then 5,000 dogs would be killed every second!! And, only 20-30% of dogs find a home from the pound. :(

gemini9961
09-06-2005, 01:13 PM
I got my newest dog from a pound. Well it was an SPCA NO KILL shelter. Remember, there are NO KILL shelters out there.

luvofallhorses
09-06-2005, 01:42 PM
IMO it's better for them than being on the streets and like gemini said, there are NO-KILL shelters out there. I really don't like kill shelters because I think every animal deserves a chance. The NO-KILL shelters only euthanize if the animals are sick or suffering. Most shelters and rescues care for their animals really good. The shelter I used to volunteer at(I quit because school interfered with it) and I am thinking about going back since I graduated...makes sure the animals are comfortable as possible.

They have their own blankets, so they don't have to be on the cold cement floor. I am not saying I agree with NO-KILL shelters, because some animals are in there most of their lives and it messes up their mental status, they go crazy. I would go crazy, too if I was in a shelter most of my life..most shelters have rescues help them.

There are pros and cons of non-kill shelters. You're right, ever day animals are being euthanized, but can we help that? You betcha! You can't save them all, but you can atleast try to save the ones that need you. It's just sad really that dogs, cats, and other animals are being euthanized daily. :( I live buy this quote "Don't breed or buy while shelter animals die"

buttercup132
09-06-2005, 01:59 PM