PDA

View Full Version : Should I go back to school? I need advice...

JenBKR
07-19-2005, 10:53 AM
I was wondering if any of you have ever been in this position. I have a bachelor's degree in psychology, but I have never actually worked in the field. I graduated a year ago. I have an office job that I really enjoy, but would like to use my degree. Problem is, everyone seems to want a higher degree or experience. I was just accepted at a grad school, and can't decide whether or not to go. It's a LOT of work, and I don't know if I am up to it. On the other hand, I would like to have a master's degree. I am really driving myself crazy...any advice?? :confused: :confused:

caseysmom
07-19-2005, 10:57 AM
I say go for it, you will never regret getting more education and you may never have that chance again.

catnapper
07-19-2005, 11:24 AM
Who says you have to go back fulltime? Why not stay at the job you currently enjoy and go to school at night? It takes longer, but you're still doing it. And if you decide to hate your job, you can always quit and enroll fulltime.

lizbud
07-19-2005, 11:26 AM
I'll say go back to school for the grad degree if you really want
to work in that field. You won't be sorry.:)

JenBKR
07-19-2005, 11:31 AM
I guess I'm just scared...the program I was accepted to is two classes a semester, all year, one night a week. It would take 2 1/2 years to complete. What scares me most is the internship...I have to carry malpractice insurance. I don't know why I am so scared but I really keep going back and forth...

Tubby & Peanut's Mom
07-19-2005, 11:55 AM
Go.

catnapper
07-19-2005, 12:03 PM
I'd go -- especially if its a 2 1/2 year part time program to get the masters. Change is scary, but worth it. In life, when you're old and look back, you'll never regret the tings you did nearly as much as the things you DIDN'T do.

Karen
07-19-2005, 12:14 PM