PDA

View Full Version : prayers needed for a found sulcata

BitsyNaceyDog
07-09-2005, 10:56 PM
Tonight I got a call form my friend saying she'd found a small tortoise in her flooded yard and it was cold and sickly looking. I just happened to be in town about 2 minutes from her house, so I went right over. She handed me the tortoise and to my surprise it was a sulcata. I couldn't believe it... there was a sulcata in her yard. :mad: How'd it get there? :mad:

Anyway I brought him home and warmed him up. Hopefully he'll be feeling better soon. He's already looking a little better. If by monday he's still not looking great I'll call my reptile vet. (There's not much I can do before then, the emergency vet is worthless unless your pet is a dog or cat.) Warmth is the main thing right now.

Oh, don't worry, I have plenty of sulcata knowledge and experience, I have 3 of them already. This one makes number 4. Justin about had a heart attack when I walked in with it. They grow to be very very massive tortoises and require a tun of space. I think we're both still a bit shocked (and maybe a bit in denial) that we now have 4.

I haven't taken a picture of him yet, but this is 2 of my others, they were getting a bath (it's an old picture, but the new guy is about this size now) He's still a baby.
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v244/kblaix/animals/reptiles/IMG_0328.jpg

GraciesMommy
07-09-2005, 10:58 PM
How wonderful that you have that knowledge..lucky for the little feller! I hope he recovers!

BitsyNaceyDog
07-09-2005, 11:10 PM
Oh Pamela, it's so great to see you back posting at PT.
Yeah, it was certainly lucky for him that my friend found him and called me, and it was also lucky that I just happened to have sulcatas. He wouldn't have survived much longer. Her yard is so badly flooded, I had to park my car at the road, take off my shoes and walk through water that was above my ankles to get to her house. That's the yard he was in. :eek:

CathyBogart
07-09-2005, 11:30 PM