PDA

View Full Version : Imac/Apple computers.. are they GOOD?

CountryWolf07
07-05-2005, 12:33 AM
I am considering one for my dorm room - since my major is in graphic design. Is it smart to own one, or just go with a regular Dell computer?

aly
07-05-2005, 02:10 AM
I really hate Apple computers, but I think they are better for graphics though. So you might want to look into them. I'll ask my boyfriend tomorrow. He does graphics work, but doesn't use Apples, so I'm not sure.

kittycats_delight
07-05-2005, 02:27 AM
Hubby says mac is the best for those things. He said mac is a working computer so it is ideal.

Karen
07-05-2005, 07:42 AM
Check with your teachers, ask what they use!

I am a graphic designer, that's my profession. I have used Macs since they first came out - though at the beginning, I had to borrow my brother's Mac, because I was a poor student!

I work in publishing, and most offices I encounter use Macs - sometimes most of the office is on PCs, but the design department is all Macintosh. But programs are becoming more and more cross-platform, and so it doesn't really seem to matter much.

I am a rabid Mac fan. I use a PC only if I really HAVE to. I am concerned that they are switching chip manufacturers, but for now, I consider Macs THE choice for graphics.

prechrswife
07-05-2005, 08:41 AM
We are a Mac household. If you are getting a degree in graphic design, a Mac is most likeley what you want. (My sister is a graphic designer.) Macs were what they were trained on in college, and that is what she uses professionally, as well.

BitsyNaceyDog
07-05-2005, 08:43 AM
Originally posted by Karen
I am a rabid Mac fan. I use a PC only if I really HAVE to. I am concerned that they are switching chip manufacturers, but for now, I consider Macs THE choice for graphics.

I'm not happy that they are switching to intel either. :mad: