PDA

View Full Version : Very sad day for me... long post

lv4dogs
06-08-2005, 08:32 AM
I lost my sweet ratkin yesterday, Gillian. She appeared to pass on either very rapidly or in pain or something as she was laying in a weird position in her potty spot. I can only hope that she went quickly & pain free.
Brux on sweet girl you are loved. You had a great long lived life.

To make matters even worse is that left me with one rat, Nibblet. Nibblet got her name 3 years ago when I saved her from a bad pet store situation. She was a biter & still is. For 3 years I have been trying to get her to trust me, not once have I ever done any bad to her. She still bites, hard & draws blood. So she still carries the name.
It used to be semi-manageable as long as I had other rats, they seemed to calm her down a bit & as long as I was holding another rat she would let me hold her, but ONLY with another rat & ONLY briefly.
I've been contemplating on putting her to sleep for 3 years because of her bad behavior. This is my FIRST rat in 16+ years out of MANY MANY rats that I have EVER had this problem with and was unable to control the problem. But I figured as long as I have multiple rats I am able to handle her briefly so she can stay.
Now that she is alone I can not handle her without her drawing blood multiple times.
After a long discussion with friends, family & my vets I decided it is for the best that she be helped to the bridge today. As sad & as hard as it is I think it is for the best. This will prevent any more harm done unto me, my family (mainly nieces & nephews) and friends as well as to herself. I am sure she has to be very stressed and often and who knows, she may do so much damage that she may cause damage to herself.