PDA

View Full Version : What is a reputable breeder?

dragondawg
05-25-2005, 06:05 PM
(entering soap box mode)

In a post below a poster claimed they had obtained their dog from a reputable breeder. It gets one to wondering...

What is a reputable breeder?

Most certainly it's not someone who has decided on the spur of the moment to breed their dog for whatever reason. I've seen many- too many internet posts that start off in the train of thought: "I recently decided to breed my dog, and (it) (or the puppies) are sick, and this is my first time". I constantly cringe when I see such posts.

Most would answer that a reputable breeder is one who takes concious step(s) to improve the breed. For example let's consider the Golden Retriever. There has apparently been a lot of effort put forth to eliminating the genetic basis for hip dysplasia in the breed. So would you consider a breeder who screens the parents and siblings for hip dysplasia as reputable? Let's assume they also screen for elbow displasia which is also a common problem. Sounds good so far...

But that still leaves two other common problems: Aortic stenosis (commonly no symptoms in puppies less than 6 mos or at most a heart murmur), and Retinal dysplasia (signs show up at 3-4 weeks). How many reputable breeders would stop breeding the parents? How many would notify the owners of the siblings, explaining to the owners they should not breed their dogs? How many owners would even know these were genetic diseases associated with the breed, and notify the reputable breeder? How many of these owners would abandon their goal of showing and later breeding their dogs?