PDA

View Full Version : Should I be worried???? (this may be long)

moosmom
05-23-2005, 06:19 PM
As you guys know, I've been working at the funeral home for 6 months now, with the understanding that once the offices upstairs are done, I'll be going full-time. Well, the time is getting close.

I talked with Renee last week. She's the woman whose place I'll be taking (she'll become my supervisor). I asked her if I should be worried about my job. She said no. Everyone has weak points and strong points. She's been interviewing people to take my part-time status once I go full time. She said that my strong points are the computer. We have a program where we create collages and DVD's of the deceased. Only she and I are the ones that know how to do it.

She then told me that she interviewed this woman who has experience on the front desk of a funeral home, and knows about Death Certificates, burial permits, etc. I've been doing that for six months and feel I'm good at it. She said that this new program (DVD, etc.) is a full-time job, and that having the same person do both would cause a distraction (she said that she's noticed mistakes on the paperwork because of the "Life's Legacy's Program). I told her that I don't claim to be perfect, and EVERYONE makes mistakes. She agreed with me. She wanted to know if I would be willing to work at the technical portion of the job, i.e., doing collages, DVD's, print out prayer cards, etc. I told her as long as I am given full-time status, with benefits and vacation, I don't have a problem with it. She said the only drawback is convincing Dan, the owner of the funeral home, that the positions involved should BOTH be full-time.

Well, I talked to the General Manager tonight about it, telling him that I really liked working at the front desk and think I'd rather stay there. I know the job well. His response has me VERY worried.