PDA

View Full Version : Looking for feedback on himalayan cats..

David25
05-10-2005, 12:11 AM
I am interested in possibly getting a Himalayan kitten but first wanted to find out more about the breed. Basically, I've heard conflicting things regarding their personality. Is it true that they are not as friendly as some other types of cats? Also, do they have any common health issues? The other cat I'm looking to get is a Maine Coon & if there are people who've owned both, I'd be interested in comments on them or anything else you would like to share. Thanks!

slick
05-10-2005, 07:52 AM
Welcome to Pet Talk David. I'm sure you will come to love it here.

I have an 11 yr old Persian. Now, I'm no expert on breeds but I understand that Persians and Himmies are pretty much related. Max has the extreme pushed in face that looks like he bashed into a wall. LOL

Personality-wise, he does have an attitude that tells people he's the kings of the castle and I've known many other Persians that have that same "tude". Is he friendly?? I would definitely say yes, but he's not a lap cat.

I did hear once-upon-a-time that Persians and Himmies were prone to sinus problems but Max has never experienced that. In fact, he has had no health issues at all, save the odd UTI or crystals in his urine. His eyes do tear alot so I'm constantly wiping his face and if you are not on top of it, the tears can stain the fur around his nose.

You really need to be vigilant with the combing. Their long hair can matt very easily. I also keep the hair on his bum trimmed for obvious reasons.

All that being said, would I own another one? Absolutely! Good luck and make sure you post pictures.

I'm sure others will chime in with Maine Coone information.

Karen
05-10-2005, 08:46 AM