PDA

View Full Version : Is it worth the fight?

catnapper
05-09-2005, 07:35 AM
Something has been bothering me REALLY bad - to the point where its gotten under my skin and is driving me nuts. I want to know if its just ME or if I really have something to gripe about.

What is my major issue? Clothes and my teenaged daughter. :rolleyes: I know, I know, its the age-old fight. From a mom's perspective: I know she's a good kid, but hanging out with the wrong crowd. Her clothes are now reflecting that. TOO TIGHT, TOO SHORT, TOO REVEALING. I mean, she is a size 6/7 pants, and wearing XS and S shirts. Lets just say sausage casings would fit looser. Yet she refuses to admit they are too tight. We fight when we have family functions about her clothes and she cries "I have nothing to wear that fits!" Then she goes shopping the following week (she works and makes her own shopping money) she buys clothes that are just as small.

At first, her dad and I let her get away with it, because the clothes DID fit -- two years ago. Now, she's even dug clothes out of the bottom of her closet that I haven't seen since she was 12, and she's wearing them at 17. Her answer to the clothes now is "I need to loose weight." Nooo.... you need to admit your body is maturing and you've now got hips, boobs, and a belly -- in other words, you've got a healthy WOMANLY figure. You need to get a Medium at the least. NOT diet to become a toothpick, you'll NEVER have a flat boyish figure. Never.

I'm serious, this is making me nuts. Its a fight I know MANY other parents fight, yet we seen to lose :rolleyes: So before I drive myself even more nuts, please either tell me to "let it go" and kindly tell me HOW to do so, or tell me I'm right and offer me suggestions on how to turn my daughter's dress around.