PDA

View Full Version : Does anyone know...

moosmom
03-24-2005, 04:39 PM
when it's time to put a litterbox out for kittens??? I'm new at this kitten thing. The other day Duncan was walking around the room yowling, while poo was coming out of his butt. I wiped it off and made a "makeshift" litterbox out of a box lid (until I could buy a real one) and put clay litter in it. I put Duncan in it and he just started to eat the litter. :eek: :eek: I took the box up and it hasn't happened again. I know Mattie Grace has been cleaning them (EWWW!!!) but didn't know when they would start using a litterbox.

Also, while I'm asking for advice...when should I start putting kitten food soaked in KMR for them?

Hey, I don't claim to know EVERYTHING, just MOST things!! ;);):p

QueenScoopalot
03-24-2005, 04:46 PM
How old are the kids now Donna? It's very normal for kittens to eat litter (annoying, but normal). Be sure it's a kitten safe litter. Sweet-Scoop is a wheat based clumping litter which is great for little ones, and is harmless if they eat it. regular clumping litter can be dangerous. It sounds as though they may be ready to try it out. And if you put food out for Mattie Grace (wet) if the kittens are ready, they'll nibble along with her. Generally 5-6 weeks they should be using the potty.:)

moosmom
03-24-2005, 07:25 PM
Thanks Jan.

The kittens are 4 weeks old today. I've been giving Mattie Grace Science Diet Kitten Food kibble. She loves it and it's good for her. I've also been boiling chicken livers for her. She gobbles that up. I picked up the makeshift litterbox with the clay litter in it because I don't think they're quite ready for it. They turn 5 weeks old next Thursday (my payday). I'll pick up some Swheat Scoop up then along with a normal, small litterbox and see what happens. They haven't shown any interest in what Mattie is eating. They do, however, belly up to the bar when she's trying to eat.