PDA

View Full Version : Beef Marrow Bones

tatsxxx11
10-23-2000, 06:29 PM
Anyone have any thoughts on soup marrow bones? As a nurse, I cringe at the thought of giving such a fatty treat, although my vet has assured me that dogs are not effected by dietary fat as are humans. (i.e. heart disease, etc.) However, I have read that high fat diets in dogs can wreck havoc with the pancreas. They only get one each every month or so. It really occupies them, the "knuckle" is a very soft, non-shattering type bone, and once they get to actually eating the bone, I take it away from them. Also, can anyone expound upon "bloat" in dogs? The causes, prevention, etc. Thanks!

ownerof3dogs
10-25-2000, 06:36 PM
I give all three of my dogs marrow bones but I don't give them the knuckle because they end up eating it and it doesn't last long. I give them the long ones with the marrow in the middle they love them so much and it keeps them busy. They have never had any problems with them

carrie
10-25-2000, 07:54 PM
Hi,
Your dogs will suffer no ill effects from the bones you give them as they are so infrequent. (Along with pancreatic problems a high fat diet will reduce your dogs ability to take up useful proteins.)
Bloat is the common name given to gastric dilation. This condition is very serious and requires veterinary attention FAST. It is often caused and complicated by gastric torsion. This is where the stomach has turned right over, sealing the openings to both ends.
Both conditions will need surgery and you must get your dog to a vet ASAP.
The gastric dilation is caused by excess gas and fermenting food in the stomach. Causes include a foreign body blocking the gut. Gastric torsion sometimes seems to happen with no cause but is usually seen when a dog has been vigorously excersised after feeding.