PDA

View Full Version : Tips for rehabilitating a feral-help!

Sofi
11-28-2001, 10:59 AM
Hi All!

I have recently rescued a feral cat that I have been feeding for 2 years. His name is Gizmo. About a month ago, he showed up with a bad wound over his right eye. After many days, I was finally able to trap him and get him to the vet. (I was planning on trapping him soon anyway to try to socialize and keep as my own). He was cleaned up, tested and neutered. Once we got him home, we put him in a large cage so that we could make sure he ate his food with his medicine and to make sure he got back on his feet. Well, after about a week, he seem to become very mad and I couldn't bear to see him in a cage any longer. We built a door for the room he is in and let him out of the cage last Friday. He had been under the bed ever since. He does come out to eat and to use the liter box (luckily, he picked that up pretty fast). At night, I peek in the window from outside of the house and I can see him lounging on the rug or sitting in a chair. He used to sit in the yard and would not always run when he saw me, so he must like me, even just a little bit?! Anyway, I was hoping someone might have some tips to help me get him out from under the bed. I want him to come out under his own terms. I know I have to be patient... :) I will do whatever it takes to make sure this little guy turns out OK.

Any advice is much appreciated. Thank you. :)

purrley
11-28-2001, 11:19 AM