PDA

View Full Version : First drawing in prismacolors

slleipnir
03-05-2005, 03:41 PM
I drew this picture a while ago, and wanted to see how these prismacolor pencils work.

Please keep in mind, I've NEVER used coloring pencils before for any of my art. I barely even draw on paper (except when I was a kid. I use to draw and color in coloring books obviously)

So yeah, that is why it's not that great of coloring. The wolf thingie is suppose to be like a demon which is why he is um...blue and has fire coming out of his neck...doesn't make sense at ALL!! -___-

http://www.tainted-sky.net/draw/prismacolor.jpg
I don't have white or black either for extra shading

bluekat
03-05-2005, 07:03 PM
Looks great!:)

I have Prismacolors too. They're the best!:D I love them.

catnapper
03-05-2005, 07:13 PM
To tell the truth, I never use black, unless I am drawing a black cat or something. I always use other colors because in nature, shadows are never truly black. Have fun and experiment with color. For example, in a red shadow, lightly layer on a dark evergreen - it'll create a richer depth than black ever would. :)

Do you know anything about color theory, how about color wheels? I can look up some links to help you. Once you have a really solid understanding of what colors are compliments of each other, your shadows will pop more than ever before.

That drawing s off to a very nice start! You'll find that Prismacolors are awesome to work with! You'll also find the technique that works for you. I have two that I use -- very heavy handed in areas, and a lot of slow layering in other areas. Also, experiment using dark paper... Proismacolors are awesome on dark or colored paper!

Chica
03-05-2005, 07:23 PM
THAT'S PRETTY GOOD!!;)

slleipnir
03-05-2005, 08:02 PM
Originally posted by catnapper