PDA

View Full Version : Changing cat litter

slick
02-27-2005, 03:43 PM
OK, now I'm getting fed up. I've been using the cheap clumping cat litter for the past 8 years....now I'm getting sick of the dust and just now I bent down to kiss Max and he smells like fresh cat litter out of the bag. :( :( There is no real stinky smell around here except for the fresh cat litter.

I have done a search because I know there are threads here about the same subject but none of them answer my one question. Should the new litter be added gradually or can I just dump the old and bring in the new?

I'm still not sure what I'm switching to, but a friend of mine (who I cat sit for) uses Yesteday's News and it's awesome. You don't scoop the pee, just the poop and it's flushable. A complete change is done once every two weeks (she has two cats as well). Not once, have I noticed any smell in her place.

Anyway, any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

DogLover9501
02-27-2005, 04:02 PM
I'll be checking back to this thread, as I hate the current stuff we're using, it's also dusty.

wolfsoul
02-27-2005, 04:24 PM
Sorry I'm no help. When I switched litter with Caleb, I didn't gradually switch. And he used it right away. And he hadn't had many peeing on clothes/bed etc, after that.

kuhio98
02-27-2005, 04:30 PM
We use a mixture of cheapo clay litter and Feline Pine.
Feline Pine is pretty expensive in Alaska so we use mostly clay. We don't use clumping kind at all because we flush the kitty "doo" down the toilet every day and the plumber said it would make cement down there if we did it too long.

wolfsoul
02-27-2005, 04:40 PM
Originally posted by kuhio98
Feline Pine is pretty expensive in Alaska so we use mostly clay. We don't use clumping kind at all because we flush the kitty "doo" down the toilet every day and the plumber said it would make cement down there if we did it too long.