PDA

View Full Version : cruelty laws question

slvrblueyes
01-25-2005, 12:34 PM
Hello all, I'm new to the message board, but I was wondering if any one could help with some questions I have.

I live in Philadelphia, PA. Next door to me is a household that has 2 dogs that they keep outside. Rarely do they bring them in, and it is eating away at me. I go out in my yard on a regular basis and sneak them treats in hopes that I might add a few pounds for some insulation.

I've called the SPCA in Philly and they asked was there any kind of shelter out there for them. There is only two plastic dog crate-type houses. They are not insulated and do not have any kind of blankets or anything in them. The SPCA person that took my complaint told me that they only have to provide a shelter, it doesn't have to be perfect. This just kills me! These are living, breathing, beautiful dogs. One is a female German Shepherd and the other is a male small to medium sized dog that has a really thick fur and a curled tail---I'm not sure what breed he is.

Can anyone help with suggestions on some kind of action I can take? I'm actually willing to make lies up to get these dogs rescued--and have thoughts of pulling a clandestine operation in the middle of the night to steal them. It was 4 degrees here the other night and I was screaming at the SPCA person to please help me because they were outside.

I would even like to write to congress or something to try and help get these laws changed. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Sorry I wrote such a long message.

I've attached a picture of my baby.

dragondawg
01-25-2005, 06:22 PM
Most locations have regulations that state there must be some sort of shelter, and the shelter must be enclosed on 3 sides. The type of shelter you mention seem to meet that criteria.