PDA

View Full Version : Sharing email addresses

slick
01-17-2005, 08:37 AM
Just a thought about security...

You probably don't know about this but many, many of your email addresses are in my address book. Why, you ask?

I've received emails that have been forwarded to me and the original recipients email addresses are retained in the text. Copy and paste and guess what, your email address has now been shared without you knowing about it.

For some of you, your email address is as private as your SIN number and maybe you only want a few Pet Talkers to have it. Me? I don't care who has my email address. Just ask and I'll give it to you. I have my PM's and email address blocked for a particular reason, but I do prefer to correspond by email.

The answer is simple. When forwarding emails, delete the addresses from the text. You can also use the BCC option in email and that way the recipient will not be able to see who else you sent it to.

Hey, I work in IT.......what can I say??

Randi
01-17-2005, 08:55 AM
Vickie, I SO agree with you on this!! It's annoying to see someone forward an e-mail to you, and along with your adress, lots of other adresses appear. I have asked my friends to please not do that. I suppose a lot don't know about it, or just don't think. Great you posted about it! :)

dukedogsmom
01-17-2005, 09:34 AM
I totally agree! I've only given my email address to a few people here and I wouldn't appreciate it being forwarded and forwarded again. That is my main email address. Maybe I should make one just for PT? I have one for spam and signing up for various sites to play games. It gets loaded with spam every day!

moosmom
01-17-2005, 10:03 AM
Slick,

I agree! I get all SORTS of junk in my email. Unless I recognize the person sending it, I delete it immediately!!!

jenfer
01-17-2005, 10:07 AM