PDA

View Full Version : I Feel Like I Have Failed As A Fur-Mom :( :( :(

DogLover9501
01-05-2005, 08:47 PM
Okay, some of you remember my thread about food aggression...

I was very happy to find out that Jasper was probably not food aggressive.

I started playing that trade game that a few people were talking about...

Tonight I told him to drop his bone and when he did I gave him another treat...

After that I pet below his ears/on his neck like I always do to tell him he was a good dog, when I did that he growled a little and *maybe* tried to snap at me, I couldn't tell because I got such a scare :(

I just started cying, I was crying so much that my parents thought he did bite me.

I'm just really upset, and so many things are running through my mind, but the word "failure" is the one that sticks out the most :(

I feel like I should have worked more with him on this as a puppy.

For some reason I was a bit scared to post this, I just don't want anyone to think that Jasper is bad or aggressive :(

I'm going to try to find more information about this on the net, and also look for that book that someone had mentioned to me.

Robyn :(

Toby's my baby
01-05-2005, 08:56 PM
I am sorry to hear about Jasper, I hope his growling/ nipping problem will get better over time, good luck!

Shelteez2
01-05-2005, 09:04 PM
He only did it because he snuck on the internet and saw where you wrote that he had never growled at anyone before.
Don't you know our dogs like to keep us humble? ;)

Seriously though, don't worry too much about it. I mean it is serious, but you are looking for ways to nip it in the bud. That is not being a failure, trust me.

One other really good reward for when a dog lets go of a highly prized item such as a bone is to let them have it back again.

I would keep doing the trade game, and just keep it in the back of your mind that he may react again, so that you are ready for it.