PDA

View Full Version : Need Help Quick!!! For Puppy!!!!

RobiLee
11-24-2004, 04:50 PM
My friend has a litter of puppies and one is not doing very well. It is a day old and will not nurse. Wondering if anyone can give some advice so she can help this puppy survive.

Thanks Robin :)

tatsxxx11
11-24-2004, 05:48 PM
Oh gosh Robin:( I have no experience caring for new born puppies:( I know others here have and hopefully they'll respond. I think there's a puppy formula you can buy and bottle feed. Has your friend called her vet for advice? I hope the mom is otherwise caring for the little one:( Paws crossed for the wee one. Please keep us updated!

Karen
11-24-2004, 05:50 PM
Send a PM to Aly - she has bottlefed pups!

lovingisliving76
11-24-2004, 05:53 PM
try giving it a little taste of honey. I had that problem once and thats what the vet told me to do. It could have the "fading puppy syndrom" not trying to worry but you really should take it to the vet pronto! Puppies die very easily when not getting the nutrition they need in a short amount of time. Good luck and I'll pray for him.

RobiLee
11-24-2004, 05:56 PM
Thanks Sandra and Karen.

The rest of the puppies are fine and nursing. It is just the one tht is growing weak and will not nurse from her mommy. My friend said that the puppie does seem to be nursing from a bottle right at this minute but all she has is 2 % milk and she doesn't know if that is the right thing to do. She is not able to get into town at this time so if there is something else the pup should have I will pick it up for her and take it to her.

I'll pm Aly also.

Thanks...Robin

RobiLee
11-24-2004, 07:00 PM
I pm'd Aly and she was very quick with her reply. I can't thank you enough, Aly.