PDA

View Full Version : Trimming claws

sirrahbed
10-17-2004, 02:15 PM
OK I am new at this:rolleyes: I did one successful claw trimming last week but the claws are again like needles. I just tried another trim. I got TWO claws done. ONE on each baby! Would it be normal for these babies to scream like I am killing them and to bite me?:eek:

sirrahbed
10-17-2004, 02:28 PM
Well, I gritted my teeth and got the fronts done:rolleyes: But, not with out getting shredded and bleeding and bitten. Little shits!:mad: I have never heard shrieking like that, either! Eliot came in and glared at me while I tortured them, too.

prechrswife
10-17-2004, 02:30 PM
I don't know. We finally gave up and started going to the vet's every 6 weeks or so.

AmberLee
10-17-2004, 02:54 PM
As I understand it, it's normal and it improves over time.*

* Caveat: I'm a chicken wimp and haven't done it except when the fur-kids are sleeping...

Lacey
10-17-2004, 03:01 PM
Gasp! Oh, such language!

I never have much trouble trimming nails around here. Zelda's the one that gives me the most trouble in that department, mostly because she likes to pull her foot out of the way just as I'm getting the clippers in position. I can massage her little foot all I want, but the moment the clippers come out... You'd think Mowgli would be the nail-trimming problem child, but no....

I just keep the clippers close at hand and when either of my babies wants a snuggle session, I just start examining toesies when they get comfy, and if there's a long nail or two... Snip-snip! Problem fixed. It's rare to get all those little nails at once though. :D

Just aim for a toe or two at a time and praise the little darlings oodles when you get a nail clipped. Treats work wonders to in changing nail-trimming attitudes!

Clip, praise, treat, clip praise treat, etc. :cool:

kt_luvs_kitties
10-17-2004, 03:03 PM