PDA

View Full Version : Traveling in car - need carrier?

cruisetime
10-01-2004, 09:01 AM
Just curious how is best to travel with cat? What do you all do? When I had a dog as a kid we traveled and it traveled with us - no carrier. Is it best for a cat to be in the carrier? I'm new to this so have lots of simple questions that are probably obvious to most. We will be traveling mostly back and forth to land we own where we will stay in an RV over the weekend - about an hour and a half one way. Thank you Debbie

Craftlady
10-01-2004, 09:07 AM
Carrier. Dangerous for them and you without being confined.

Logan
10-01-2004, 09:24 AM
After losing one, very tragically, once, after not having her in a carrier, I will NEVER have my cats in the car outside of a carrier, ever again.

cruisetime
10-01-2004, 09:50 AM
Thank you both. I will use the carrier. :) Debbie

emily_the_spoiled
10-01-2004, 09:54 AM
I use a carrier for all of my cats and if I am going any distance (i.e. greater than a couple of blocks), I actually buckle the carrier in using a seat belt.

If you are in an accident and the carrier is not buckled in, then it will go "flying".

Tubby & Peanut's Mom
10-01-2004, 10:05 AM
http://www.imagestation.com/picture/sraid134/pe42c50df1046d2ea3c8ce9645525d346/f770edd1.jpg