PDA

View Full Version : Rejected for MBA - rant

Ally Cat's Mommy
09-21-2004, 04:22 AM
I was supposed to start my MBA this week and my application has been rejected :(

As I have a COLLEGE diploma, but no BA degree, I applied to enter the program based on previous work experience (If you can prove 12 years of relevant work experience and provide two letters of reference from previous managers they will accept that instead of an existing degree).

They have rejected my application as I am NOT CURRENTLY EMPLOYED :(

Their reason for this is that much of the coursework will be based on current real-life experiences in my place of work, and as I am not working I will not be able to fully participate.

I offered to do Project Management work FREE for my previous employer, in order to have relevant business issues on which to base my coursework, but they can't allow me to do that. (Hubby works for a competitor and there are "confidentiality issues"). I also asked a couple of other companies where I know managers, and they can't do it either.

I am SO dissapointed - I managed to get $21 000 together to pay for this course, not they won't let me do it. Plus if I am working full time I will find it difficult to give my studies the focus they need, so this was a perfect opportunity.

*SIGH* - what a bummer:(

Killearn Kitties
09-21-2004, 05:02 AM
Exactly what I was going to say, what a bummer! :(

Is there absolutely no hope that they might be persuaded otherwise?

Barbara
09-21-2004, 05:46 AM
Oh Julie, I am so very sorry about that! I hope you find a way to work it out!

I know you can do it!:)

Tonya
09-21-2004, 09:05 AM
Oh, Julie, I am so sorry! That is a bummer! Don't give up, I am sure you can work something out. (((hugs)))

emily_the_spoiled
09-21-2004, 09:31 AM
Julie,