PDA

View Full Version : Placing cats into the right home

aly
05-09-2001, 02:18 PM
I just found my second stray cat of the week. I found the first one's owners a few days ago but I doubt I will find the owners to this one. The problem is I can't keep her because Shiloh hates other cats so I will probably be rehoming her myself as I don't want to take her to a shelter. She is a very sweet kitty but she plays rough. I have had a lot of experience in placing dogs but not as much with cats. I want to find this cat the perfect home, but I'm not sure how I'm going to go about this. When she plays with you, she bites and claws. It does hurt because her teeth are sharp but she doesn't mean for it to hurt. She's very gentle and I've been using the "OUCH!" method on her and it does make her stop. I want to find someone who will be very tolerant of her play or very patient while trying to train her not to bite like that. I know there are some people who don't mind rough play because I have a cat who plays very rough and I don't mind it at all. The question is, how can I find someone who will love this kitty and not let her get lost or dumped again? She seems to have had surgery sometime in the past few months. On her side haunches are patches that were once shaved but the hair is grown back a lot. She's petite and very young (I think).

Spencer - I saw you live in Dallas. Would you have any advice on how to find the right home? I'm in Austin and would be willing to drive to Dallas if you know of anyone there wanting a bundle of joy.

[This message has been edited by aly (edited May 09, 2001).]

aly
05-09-2001, 03:35 PM