PDA

View Full Version : feeding my cat raw liver

blarson
11-22-2000, 05:17 PM
I have a 21/2 yr. old male cat. He loves raw liver. I give him a little everyday, will this harm him?

blarson
11-25-2000, 07:01 AM
Originally posted by SpencerTheLion:
Short answer: I free feed Nutro or IAMS dry food with fresh tuna 1-2 a week.

When it comes to pet nutrition, I am by no means an expert. If liver was a once in a week treat (which is what I do with tuna), it would not seem to be a problem. Keep in mind the better cat foods have the vitamins and minerals cats need. Taurtine, for example was discovered in the late 1980s to be good for a cat's eyes & heart. So taurtine was added to cat food. A rescue webite in Colorado recommends a lot of fresh meat, but I'm afraid to try. What they are doing may be very sound, but it would seem vitamin supplements probably should be added.

gini
11-25-2000, 10:28 AM
Every time I have asked the vet about a suggestion for putting some weight on my cats I have gotten the same answer - a good commercial brand is the best because it will have all of the vitamins and minerals they need. So I guess we need to look at tuna or turkey or liver as a "treat" to be given occasionally, but not their regular diet. I have found if you give the treats too frequently they won't eat their regular food hoping that a treat will soon show up.

ktreva52
11-25-2000, 03:21 PM
Originally posted by blarson:
I have a 21/2 yr. old male cat. He loves raw liver. I give him a little everyday, will this harm him?

The main difficulty I see with this is parasites that might be in the liver and get into the cat that way. The organ meats ARE very nutritious, but raw runs a risk of bad things. I would suggest talking to your vet about it and discuss where you might find really "clean" liver. Maybe switching to liver-flavored treats or teaching him to like cooked liver would be possible???

blarson
11-25-2000, 06:56 PM
Originally posted by ktreva52: