PDA

View Full Version : Have a dumb question :o

Kirsten
08-13-2004, 12:50 PM
Some of you may know that I'm working on a new cat website these days, www.catmom.de (http://www.catmom.de). It's supposed to be a very informative page and I'm putting many efforts into it and would like to do a good job.

The page is in German, but I'm working on an English translation (http://www.catmom.de/engl) also. Now my question is, how do I have to refer to cats in general in my articles, as "it" or "he"? I've read a book by Pamela Johnson-Bennett and she was always referring to them as "he" or "him". This sounded a bit strange to me, but then again, "it" would be so terrible impersonal, as if the cat was just a thing. So what is the best way to do that in English?

Would be thankful for some advice! :)

Kirsten

slleipnir
08-13-2004, 12:53 PM
I think he sounds better personally...:)

Tonya
08-13-2004, 12:54 PM
I personally use "he or she" or "he/she" before "he" or "it". But I am not very good with proper English, so you probably want someone else's opinion.

p.s. I believe "he" is proper English because that is how it usually is in books. Even my child rearing books that I have always refer to the child as "he".

Samantha Puppy
08-13-2004, 12:56 PM
I would say "it" if you cannot avoid it... otherwise, I would try and say "the cat/kitten" instead of him, her OR it. "It" is the correct use of English though - saying him/his is misleading and just as offensive to the female cats as it would be to human women to be referred to as "him/his". hehe

Now, if you're talking about different cats and they have names and genders, use their name and then you can say things like "his toy" or "her food" - but only after you've stated the name and gender.

English. It's so darn confusing. Ain't it great? ;)

Edwina's Secretary
08-13-2004, 01:05 PM