PDA

View Full Version : How to make a perfect resume?

teenster3
07-23-2004, 06:06 PM
Ok,
I'm looking at this job in the paper & I really want it! Problem: I'm not too happy to admit this but, I've had a lot of jobs in the past.....I mean a lot, some I don't even remember! I started working at 17 & am now going on 29. One of the main reasons I've had so many jobs is; I'm not sure what the heck I want to do with my whole life! I don't know if that's sad or what at my age! I really want this job though it sounds so interesting: Gift Shop Display Manager. The main responsibility would be to maintain displays in different shops. I have almost 8 years of retail experience. So, my question is....How do I come up with the perfect resume......that will blow other's out of the water??? It's a VERY competitive world out there right now, so I need the perfect resume!
Thanks,
Tina

almamee
07-23-2004, 06:36 PM
if you really want it then get the job

AmberLee
07-24-2004, 03:25 AM
:o I'm not too good at this, but when I was facing a layoff ~20 months back Edwina's Secretary (Sara) really helped me modernize my resume... I've heard she's traveling soon, so she might not see this thread. Perhaps you can PM her?

Good luck!

binka_nugget
07-24-2004, 05:30 AM
Google it. Whenever I update my resume or go in for an interview, I research as much as I can on google. I found a lot of help there. Also, it wouldn't hurt to look into the company more so you can add more to your resume that might be related.

My CAPP (career and personal planning) teacher helped us with resumes and portfolios last year. She said to use lots of italics, underlines and bold. Also, play around with fonts and font sizes. It can make a plain resume look more interesting. Play around with the position of things as well.