PDA

View Full Version : Question for those who volunteer at animal shelters-

neko1
07-19-2004, 06:55 PM
I was thinking about possibly volunteering at the animal shelter but I'm so worried about bringing home any diseases or fleas..etc to my cats. If that happened, Iwould just die.

So I'm wondering what preventative measures you all take to avoid this. My cats are up to date on distemper and rabies vaccines, they do not get leukemia vaccines.

I really think I would love volunteering, but it's this one factor that I can't get out of my head.

Thanks for your help:D

kuhio98
07-19-2004, 07:05 PM
I've been volunteering at a no-kill shelter for the past 3 months. When I come home, I immediately head for the shower and scrub and throw my clothes into the wash. We've had an outbreak of ringworm at the shelter. So far, none of my kitties (or me) have gotten it. I'm always hot and sweaty and covered in cat hair when I leave there, so I'm always ready for a shower. Works for me!

Oh, I should mention that we don't have fleas and ticks in Alaska, so I don't know anything about those precautions. I'm sure someone here will know more about that.

Laura's Babies
07-19-2004, 07:41 PM
I do the same! I NEVER touch any of my kitties until I feel clean!
It is worthwhile work if you can take the sadness that goes with the job.. (There is a LOT of joy too)

wolflady
07-19-2004, 08:03 PM
I was very worried about this when I started volunteering at my shelter, then working for the vet hospital also!!

Be sure to keep some "crap clothes" around to wear everytime you go to the shelter, and shoes too. You never know what kind of "fluids" you may encounter while volunteering. I dealt with urine, some blood, vomit etc...but I also helped with the sick animals at the shelter a lot, so depending on what sorts of things you will be doing will help determine your garb.