PDA

View Full Version : Max ate Belladonna

stacwase
07-07-2004, 11:24 PM
We're lucky to even have Max with us!

Today, he was absolutely insane. Twice, he got away from me while I was taking him out. I was using both arms to try to hold onto him, and he nearly broke my arm both times, getting away. I had to go catch him, and he wouldn't come. That's totally unlike him. When I looked into his eyes it was like he wasn't even seeing me. He was insane. I was in tears.

When my husband got home he found Belladonna growing in the kennel area. We think he must have eaten some, because he was absolutely not himself at all.

Thank God he didn't eat too much. He's OK now and we pulled the weeds out.

wolfie
07-07-2004, 11:43 PM
Oh, how scary! I'm glad he's okay now.

Did you take him to the vet? I mean, I'm no expert, but there could still be some in his body.

Good thing you found the cause though - it would have been even worse to not know what it was.

*hugs* for Max. ^_^

MariaM
07-07-2004, 11:47 PM
I've never even heard of Belladonna so I thought it was an animal!! What is it?

molucass
07-07-2004, 11:55 PM
I thought it was an animal too! :o

What is it???

captain
07-08-2004, 12:10 AM
Thank goodness you figured out what it was. Hope Max is OK.

And THIS (http://www.ces.ncsu.edu/depts/hort/consumer/poison/Atropbe.htm) is Belladonna

BCBlondie
07-08-2004, 03:10 AM
Eek!! :-\ Glad Max is doing okay. What a scare!

chocolatepuppy
07-08-2004, 05:39 AM
Never heard of belladonna, only in the song by Fleetwood Mac! I too thought he ate some kind of little animal! Glad he is okay.

dukedogsmom
07-08-2004, 07:13 AM
Poor Max! I hope he's really alright now. I would watch him closely today. I thought it was an animal, too. Couldn't remember the names of the Chi's there :P

anna_66
07-08-2004, 07:18 AM
Scared me to death (I thought it was an animal too:rolleyes: )! Still, how terrible to find out your boy has eaten a poisionous plant:(