PDA

View Full Version : Could a cat and a fox breed?

ramanth
06-10-2004, 09:01 AM
After seeing this picture.... one wonders. (click news link to see image)

Everyone's got an opinion on photo of mysterious creature (http://www.news-record.com/news/local/rand/creature_061004_hp.htm)

What do you all think?

catmandu
06-10-2004, 09:13 AM
That almost does look like a mating , of a Fox ,and a Siamese Cat , byt it must be a fluke , of Nature! As I dont think that Foxes and Cats , are compatible!

kimlovescats
06-10-2004, 09:14 AM
Pretty interesting .... :eek:

shais_mom
06-10-2004, 10:32 AM
wow! :eek:
what an unusual but gorgeous animal.
I have never seen a fox that long legged!!!

lizzielou742
06-11-2004, 02:47 PM
Well that is just weird!

BCBlondie
06-11-2004, 04:03 PM
Interesting... I think it may just be a hoax though.. After reading this:

I use photoshop for a living (have done for over 16 years) and this isn't even a good fake.

I dont know what it started out as, but here are my observations after blowing it up and analyzing the pixels.....

1) the shape of the ears on the "creature" do not match the shape of the shadow...

2) both ears have a 6 or more pixel dark outline around them that would not be as pronounced given the lighting conditions shown.

3) the airbrushing of the grass up into the animals body (especially stomach and right front paw) is sadly amateur. If I did that I'd get fired.

4) there is a definite change from where the REAL tail ends and the long tail was added.

5) and the most glaring stupidity is the shadow itself... trace your finger down the shadow starting from the neck towards the tail... at the neck and the back the shadow is very far from the body, then the tail's shadow is very close to it. The "creatures" butt does not drop off that drastically. Besides that, the tail's shadow on the grass varies in density... which is physically impossible.

Hmmmph.