PDA

View Full Version : Kitty Plus Inflatable Furniture = ??

DNova
10-30-2001, 10:26 PM
Still waiting on permission to get a kitty (Doubt I'll even get it, so I'll probably move next year) but I'm wondering if any of you have had experience with cats and inflatable furniture?? :eek:

I sleep on an air mattress and was thinking about getting an air couch or chair of some sort (hey, I'm a college student!) ... I would wany my kitty to feel free to sleep on my bed with me or whenever he wanted, but I'm worried about claws!! I don't think I'll be getting my kitten declawed, because most breeders highly discourage it, and I've read sufficient evidence against it.

Any advice/experience??

Thanks a lot! :)

yorkster
10-30-2001, 11:56 PM
We had an inflatable chair (free give-away at a football game, so no big deal). It lasted about 2 days...........Trimming claws would help most of the time, but my one kitty is a bit of a CHEWER. He is only 10 months old now, so maybe it's a kitten thing, but I don't know.

purrley
10-31-2001, 07:10 AM
I don't think inflatable furniture would last too long around a kitty (especially a kitten), it's just a natural thing for the little guys to scratch - all I can suggest is that you'd have to trim the claws really short. NO DECLAWING - bad, really bad!!!

DNova
10-31-2001, 03:27 PM
When I was younger and had a total of 3 cats, they were all front-paw declawed...

they never had any weird problems because of it that I know of, yet websites tell me otherwise. Also, most cats I've ever come into contact with are front-paw declawed, and all seem to be great cats...

I would rather keep my cat happy and comfortable and sacrifice a half hour a week to trim its nails if that is truly appropriate... any thoughts??

aly
10-31-2001, 03:35 PM
Haha, when Shiloh was a kitten, her favorite thing to do was jump on and off of an inflatable chair. She ruined it of course, but it was no big deal to me.