PDA

View Full Version : My baby's change in behaviour

pam_pesto
02-18-2001, 04:10 PM
Hi
My little baby Pesto is 15 months old, and we have had her for 10 of them. She is a very loving little girl, and until the last week or two she always wanted to be in the same room as her mom and dad. She isn't a lap cat, but she has tended to prefer to have us within her view.
However, over the last few weeks she has spent the majority of the day hiding in our bedroom closet while we are in the living room. I am a University student, so I am at home a lot studying, and this hasn't changed since we had her. She is usually willing to come out if we go and coax her out, but if we don't give her our undivided attention she retreats to the closet. Nothing has changed in our patterns of playing with her or paying attention to her. The only change is her dad's work schedule, but even then only his days off have changes.
I miss spending time with my baby! http://PetoftheDay.com/talk/frown.gif She is spending 90% of the day there. Does anyone have any idea what could be up with her?

Vi Co Bi
02-19-2001, 05:58 PM
If your cat has suddenly taken to hiding in a closet rather than spend time with her family, then the first thing to do is take her to the vet. This will rule out any physical reason for her wanting to hide; cats in the wild who are feeling poorly prefer to hide because it gives them a chance to rest and heal without much interruption. You didn't mention whether or not she was still eating and using her litter box. If you have noticed a decrease in either activity, a trip to the vet is very necessary. She might have developed a URI or UTI, she could have nibbled on a plant she shouldn't have, she might have gotten into the trash and had something disagree with her, or she could have decided to munch on something she should have - like a string or twist-tie - and it could be causing a bowel blockage.