PDA

View Full Version : no veggies in a raw diet?

guster girl
04-11-2004, 10:23 AM
Ok, here goes. I've always been told to add veggies to the raw diet for my dog. But, I just joined a raw feeding forum through yahoo, and, ALL of them say veggies aren't necessary. :( I'm not changing anything, yet, but, I'm willing to listen to them and learn from them. It's a pretty cool forum so far, with some intelligent people and ideas. If anyone wants to know what I learn or what they're saying, ask me. I'll share anything I learn. :)

joycenalex
04-11-2004, 12:07 PM
alex the wonder dog gets half of his food, by weight, from ground veggies. which yahoo groups are you on? i'm a menber of k9Nutrition and k9Kitchen, i mostly lurk tho, since i've been feeding raw for almost 4 years.

DogLover9501
04-11-2004, 01:31 PM
I was talking to Jen(a friend of mine) and we both thought that feeding all meat didnt sound too healthy.

I was thinking about feeding raw, but my vet & my mom changed my mind, naming all the reasons why we wouldnt eat raw meat(parasites(sp?)...etc) so I have decided not to feed raw.

guster girl
04-11-2004, 01:36 PM
Well, as far as not eating raw meat as humans, that is fine. But, dogs and cats have different digestive systems. They don't hold their food in their bodies for long periods of time like we do. But, anyway....

Well, the more I read about actual wolves and wild dogs, is that they DON'T eat the stomach contents of their prey. I mean, that was the whole reason I was feeding veggies. And, anything I read saying to feed veggies says they should only be about 30 to 40% of the diet. I've been feeding Finn 8 oz meat and 1/4 cup veggies three times a day. I'm still so nervous about feeding poultry bones! I'm on a couple of raw feeding and labrador retriever groups at yahoo. And, I've mostly just been reading, but, most of them are saying that they don't feed veggies. Just meat and bone.

Shelteez2
04-11-2004, 02:01 PM