PDA

View Full Version : Can you believe this?

nsweezie
04-09-2004, 05:14 AM
Hi!
I've been volunteering at a cat shelter for a few months now. It has been hard work, but very satisfying, and I feel like I am making a small difference.
I was there yesterday, and I heard the saddest story. I had to talk about it with people who would understand why I was upset.
There was a new cat there, brown tabby, male, about 17 years old. The manager of the shelter was talking to the people that were dropping him off. They said that the cat was their sister's cat, and that she had died a week before from cancer. Now here is the terrible part, the woman's dying wish was that her cat spend the remainder of his life with her parents. She even made them swear that they would look after her cat.
Well, the parents actually were joking around with the shelter manager. The man said "We just agreed to stop her worrying, but we hate cats, so we're dropping him off here."
Maybe I'm crazy to be so upset, but I think this is awful. The poor cat was scared, and probably broken hearted. I gave him a big cuddle, but I still think he was so sad. Sometimes I despair of the human race!

Ally Cat's Mommy
04-09-2004, 05:48 AM
OH poor cat - that just brings tears to my eyes.

In my opinion those people are bringing themselves some REALLY bad karma - firstly by not honouring a dying family member's wishes, and secondly by making a joke of it. I personally would think that the cat would be such a wonderful way to continue to express their love for the deceased.

Is it a no-kill shelter? I suppose at least the cat has you, and other wonderful people like you, to give it some cuddles and attention.

jenluckenbach
04-09-2004, 05:55 AM
:(:(:( I'd have taken that cat from them without even thinking.
How horrible!!!!!!!!!!

PayItForward
04-09-2004, 05:57 AM
Originally posted by Ally Cat's Mommy
OH poor cat - that just brings tears to my eyes.