PDA

View Full Version : Any guinea pig experts around?

PJ's Mom
02-06-2004, 01:21 PM
As you may know, we have 2 guinea pigs...Herbert and Wilbur. Wilbur is my pig, and although I'm horribly allergic to him, I try to spend some time with him every day.

Wilbur is around 9 months old, and he hates me. :( He won't let me pick him up without a struggle, and he'd rather be anywhere else than with me. When we spend time together, I usually take him out of his cage and let him run on my king size bed, where he gets to eat a little apple and some parsley.

I've seen some of the other piggies on this site and they don't seem to be nearly as high strung as Wilbur.

Is there anything I can do to make him a little more tame?

Amber
02-06-2004, 01:36 PM
Im not a piggie expert, but maybe try talking to him in a smoothe voice everyday. then maybe try putting you hand in the cage, and try petting him. When he gets comfortable try picting him up. When he does good offer yummy treats. then hopefully he will gain your trust.

hoped I help a little. :)

PayItForward
02-06-2004, 01:57 PM
I'm no expert either but I used to be owned by a Gpig and bunny when I was a kid.

Lucky the Gpig, never liked being picked up either.

I remember reading that Gpig should never be lifted off the ground. It causes too much stress, as naturally they would live at ground level.

But this was 20 years ago, when it was recommended that bunnies & Gpigs should be housed together in outside hutches. So that advice may be very outdated.

What about ringing your vets for advice over the phone ?

Good Luck

wolfie
02-06-2004, 03:26 PM
Hi!

Is Wilbur an abysinnian pig? Because my Amelia is, and she doesn't like to be held, and isn't very tame, and bit me a couple times. I though it was something I did, but I read that some lines of abysinnians are like that.