PDA

View Full Version : One box or two?

joker98
02-02-2004, 10:47 AM
I know it has probably been asked before and I have heard the one box per cat and the one more box than cat theory, but I'm pretty new to this so I just wanted to ask for y'alls expert opinion. I got Dallas (2 year old dilute calico) last October and I just got Dusty (8 week old ball of fur) yesterday. Pictures will be coming as soon as I load the software for my camera on the computer. Right now I have him "sequestered" in my bedroom with a litter box in my bathroom. Dallas' litter box is downstairs in the kitchen. Dallas is about 10-12lbs and Dusty is smaller than dirt. Do I need two litter boxes for two small cats or will one do. I scoop once daily with Dallas because thats really all she needs but when I add Dusty can I just scoop twice a day and be fine. Because honestly, I don't really have any place to put another litter box :(. Opinions?

moosmom
02-02-2004, 10:55 AM
Joker98,

Since Dusty is only 8 weeks old, I would recommend not using the clumping litter till he's much older. Because cats are natural groomers, kittens can swallow the clumping litter while grooming and it could cause major obstructions. Use the regular clay litter till he's older (3-4 months old) or you can also use Feline Pine, which are sawdust pellets. All you have to do with those is clean out the solid waste daily. The urine will be absorbed into the pellets. When it turns to sawdust, just dump the box and fill it again with only an inch of Feline Pine.

I didn't use the 1 box per cat theory till I had 3 or more cats. Most cats are fine with sharing a box with another cat. But again, it all depends on the personalities. If in fact, one cat starts having potty problems, then I'd invest in another box.

Good luck with your new furball!! Pictures please!!

sirrahved
02-02-2004, 12:06 PM
I have two kitties, and they are fine with sharing a litter box. We just clean it quite often.

catnapper
02-02-2004, 12:10 PM