PDA

View Full Version : Fister had his nails clipped - 5 so far

Randi
02-01-2004, 10:25 AM
Yesterday I cut three of Fister's nails - and two more today! It's my very first attempt, so I'm proud. :D I did it when he was sleeping - well, he did wake up and we cuddled a bit first, but he was relaxed enough to let me do a few. :)

Lately, I have touched his toes more and more, figured it would make it easier once it was for real - and it was. I'll only do the front.

The first one, I clipped with my own nail scissors, but then used the "3 in one" for the rest - much better! I am of course very careful and only clip off the sharp tip of the nail. About 2 mm.

I have seen the photos Phred posted of various nailclippers, and I'll have look next time at the vet to see what he uses. :)

Uabassoon
02-01-2004, 10:53 AM
Congrats on being able to cut a few of Fisters nails! These are the type of clippers I use. They work really well, plus they are cheap (only around $5) and since i seem to lose them all the time I like that they are easily replacable.
http://www.petsmart.com/images/product/large/inP033199.jpg

RedHedd
02-01-2004, 11:10 AM
Congratulations Randi! WOW! :eek: FIVE nails in ONE day! :eek: AMAZING! :p

I use the same kind of clippers Uabassoon posted the picture of. They're the easiest to use. After reading about many people not clipping the back claws, I've decided to join you - it's just so much easier not having to fight Mishi's long, muscular legs - that guy can KICK! :rolleyes: Mitzi is just too round to keep a grip on and wiggles and squirms and puts up such a fuss.

Wishing you success in clipping a few more today! ;)

Randi
02-01-2004, 11:12 AM
Uabassoon! Thanks for the picture. That one looks effective, and easy to use. :)

Redhead! It WAS over two days. ;) I tell you, Fister can KICK too. :eek:

Well, as long as it's one which gives a clean cut!

catnapper
02-01-2004, 11:24 AM