PDA

View Full Version : Clicker Training

jenfer
01-30-2004, 05:18 PM
I am just wondering whether anyone train their doggies using this method? And whether they like it or not?
I am still new to this, but sounds great to me. So I am going to read more about it and will try to use it.

clara4457
01-30-2004, 05:45 PM
I love clicker training. I use it at the shelter on occasion. If you want more information about it, the best resource in my opinion is Karen Pryor. She has both books and video tapes you can purchase on clicker training. She also has a website if you want some more information: Karen Pryors Website (http://www.clickertraining.com/home/index.htm)

In the meantime, your first step is to teach Gigi to associate clicks with good stuff (usually treats). So the first few days of using it, you are going to just click - treat; click - treat. Then you can start some commands and use the click to signal a good job. It is timing that counts here. You must start clicking at the very second or two after they have done the desired behavior. Then you can give her the treat. After a while you will treat less and less and the dog will start working solely for the click.

Good Luck

jenfer
01-30-2004, 05:51 PM
Thank you for your input. I did find that site earlier this week and ordered the starter kit. And today I bought "Don't Shoot the Dog" as well. I want to start doing the clicking after I received her starter kit... I am afraid I will do the wrong thing. haha...

So... for example: she put her butt on the floor, I will click and treat, cuz she just "sit". And do I say "sit" after I click? I click because she did something good, not because I want her to do something, correct? Because just "clicking" does not tell her what I want her to do. I am a bit confused.

clara4457
01-30-2004, 06:18 PM