PDA

View Full Version : Are (or were) your parents strict on your grades?

GoldenRetrLuver
12-17-2003, 09:07 PM
My parents and I were discussing this the other day, and I thought it would be an interesting topic.

My grandpa was VERY strict on my mom's grades. He wanted her to be the "4.0 GPA, straight A student". So, she had excellent grades throught out high school, and ended up graduating #7 in her high school class. (I guess it payed off! :p)

Thankfully, my mom isn't as strict on my grades as her father was. But, she's not one of those parents that "doesn't care" either. She expects me to have quality, decent grades.

If this is a dumb topic, please let me know. :o

Uabassoon
12-17-2003, 09:10 PM
I didn't have to have all A's but my parents made sure I did the best that I could. If I made a B in the class and my parents knew that I studied hard for it then they were happy for me. But if I made a B and my parents knew that I slacked off then they would be upset with me.

Karen
12-17-2003, 09:11 PM
My parents were very strict about grades. Anything less than a B would get you grounded for a week - the theory was the lower the grade the longer you'd be grounded - not that I ever tested that theory! Thankfully, I liked school (when I wasn't bored).

Logan
12-17-2003, 09:16 PM
I was "plagued" (saying that tongue in cheek) with parents who never made a B in their life, therefore, they didn't expect us to either!!! Of course, that didn't necessarily work for me, but I made it through high school just fine, was accepted to the college of my choice, and graduated in 4 years, just as they expected me to. So I guess their sort of pressure was exactly what I needed!