PDA

View Full Version : 18 dogs rescued from IA

SiberianLove
07-11-2000, 12:19 PM
I work as a volunteer for Adopt A Husky (www.adoptahusky.com) in Minnesota. We got a call on June 27, 2000 about a breeder/animal "hoarder" who had 18 Siberian Huskies in his 5 room house in IA. The authorities told him that he would have to find alternative homes for his 18 Siberian Huskies before the following Friday or they would be put to sleep. The 18 Siberian Huskies were never allowed outside and lived in their own waste. The ages of the dogs range between 9 months and 9 years. They are all related. The breeder would open a 150 pound of dog food in the middle of the house and leave for 4-5 days at a time to drive across country as a truck driver. NONE were spayed or neutered.

The Animal Controller was able to removed the dogs immediately from the house, but did not have room in their facility for the dogs. By Saturday(July 1, 2000), Adopt A Husky had found foster homes for all 18 dogs. We traveled to IA and to transported them to the foster homes in MN. I have never seen anything like this in my entire life. The dogs had NEVER been outside. The pads on their paws here pink (like a brand new puppy). They were absolutely covered in feces and fleas. We had to wash them in flea shampoo (the only thing available) before we transported the dogs. The water from the shampooing was running blood red for the flea material matted in the dog's coats. Several dogs had sever hot spots. One was completely missing hair on her hind quarters from the flea infestation. Every single dog was completely starved, some almost to death. Their growth has been completely stunted and muscles are atrophied from the lack of nutrition. A regular Siberian Husky should weigh between 35 and 45 pounds at the age of 9 months. The litter that was 9 months old weighed between 13
and 19 pounds.

Adopt A Husky could really use some assistance placing these dogs in