PDA

View Full Version : Eating Dirt??

tatsxxx11
01-17-2001, 03:32 PM
OK guys, try this one. My husky/shep Cody has taken to digging in one particular area of the yard and eating "dirt!" As a nurse, I am inclined to think that she is suffering from some nutritional deficiency she's trying to compensate for. (In pregnant woman, there is a condition called pica, which compels them to eat soil or clay and is believed to have a nutritional cause!) The vet seems unconcerned, saying that usually dogs will do this if they have an upset stomach. Actually, I think eating the dirt is GIVING her an upset stomach...she seems to be constipated! She recently had xrays to diagnose hip dysplasia and they showed "hard stools and sand" as the vet explained. Still, he said not to do anything particular, except of course, trying to keep her from eating it. Anyone had this experience with their dog? Also, any suggestions for treating her constipation? Her diet consists of Eukanuba large breed dry with a tablespoon of canned Iams or cooked chicken. She loves and eats raw veggies and fruit as treats. Thanks

ownerof3dogs
01-17-2001, 04:02 PM
My shephard/akita mix Felice eats dirt too. but not that often. I call her a cow because she is always eating grass

Pam
01-17-2001, 04:32 PM
My sister-in-law's dog, part husky/german shepherd loves to lick the concrete patio and edge of the fireplace! Maybe she's sanding down her tongue?? http://PetoftheDay.com/talk/biggrin.gif

lhg0962
01-17-2001, 04:34 PM
I'm inclined to agree with you, Sandra,I think something is missing if Cody is eating dirt. Mine dig in the dirt and of course, bring it inside, but I've never seen it eaten. Could you add some kind of oil to her diet (fatty acids have lots of fish oil) or something to help everything come through better?