PDA

View Full Version : I need safety meeting ideas

Tonya
10-22-2003, 10:19 PM
I'm the safety person at work. Once a month, I have to give a safety meeting. I am running out of ideas. Can you all give me some ideas on that else I can talk about?

Here are what some of my meetings were about so far to give you an idea:

1. Dog bites
2. dehydration
3. sun exposure
4. electrocution
5. asbestos
6. lead poisoning
7. defensive driving
8. pole climbing
9. ladder safety

Fuzzy317
10-22-2003, 10:25 PM
What are the people these are for, church/vets/hospital/school?

Tonya
10-22-2003, 10:35 PM
Sorry, I guess that is an important detail! I'm an outside technician for the phone company. The safety meetings can be about pretty much anything; it doesn't have to be work related.

Kater
10-22-2003, 10:38 PM
What to do in certain weather related emergencies....whatever is most common in your area. For example in Hawaii I would pick hurricanes.

Fuzzy317
10-22-2003, 10:45 PM
Here are some, may or may not be job related:
[list=a]
tornados
fire drills
hurricane (good suggestion Kater)
driving in hazardous conditions: snow, rain, flood, wind, earthquake, lava (another Hawaii idea;))
[/list=a]

Barbara
10-23-2003, 04:26 AM
I have read that most accidents occur in the households- window cleaning etc. , poisonous cleaner stuff, children and hot stoves etc.

So household safety could be a theme.

Ally Cat's Mommy
10-23-2003, 10:36 AM
How about how to deal with different poisons - ie some poisons should be "brought back up again", and some should not (I assume due the the acidity - some things will do damage again coming back up the way).

Or how about a session on how to splint a broken limb. or immobilise a sprain?

gini
10-23-2003, 11:25 AM
Tonya, I am a member of a local Rotary club. We have just embraced a project called RISK WATCH.