PDA

View Full Version : worried about pregnant sadie

matti
09-08-2001, 02:21 PM
i have another dog besides madison. her name is sadie. just around the end of july both sadie and madison went into heat. madison didn't get pregnant, but sadie did. sadie is a chiwawa mix. is it normal for them to nearly quadruple their weight when pregnant?
(i.e. about 4 1/2 lbs to about 17 lbs)
:eek: :confused:

[ September 08, 2001: Message edited by: madd_dog ]

[ September 08, 2001: Message edited by: madd_dog ]

Karen
09-08-2001, 04:35 PM
Has she been to see the vet? I have no experience with such a small dog being pregnant, so I can't help you!

MHMama
09-08-2001, 08:13 PM
This could be very dangerous. Do you know what breed the male dog was? My husband had a small dog (years ago) that went into heat and got pregnant by a much larger dog. She ended up with nine puppies, three were stuck and died before they realized and did a C section to save the other six.
I am not sure but I believe that most breeders prefer bigger females and small males to try to make small chihuahuas because of the danger to the female. PLEASE get Sadie to a vet if you haven't already.

Pam
09-08-2001, 09:02 PM
Oh no, another pup to worry about! Madd_dog I certainly hope that Sadie will be all right. Does she really weight 17 lbs. now! :eek: Please do get her to a vet and let us know what you find out. We'll be waiting to hear!

Daisy's Mom
09-08-2001, 10:29 PM
I agree, take her to a vet! We'll pray for her. Keep us posted.

Dixieland Dancer
09-10-2001, 09:27 AM
The normal gestation of a pregnant bitch is 63 days. If she got pregnant in July she should be at about term and should of seen a vet long before now. My Dixie gained 20 pounds with 10 puppies each weighing about 1 pound but she is a Golden Retriever. So my answer would be (but I'm not a small dog expert) no it is not normal?