PDA

View Full Version : "Tails" from the Veterinarian!

wolflady
09-25-2003, 07:33 PM
There seem to be several people who work as Vet Techs (such as myself) or another type of employ at Veterinary offices. I think it would be interesting to share some insights and tales from our experiences as employees in animal health care (this can include foster people, rescue or any other type of person involved in animal health).

I'm still fairly new to working in a veterinary hospital and it has really been an eye opener! I am learning a lot and getting used to all the hospital lingo! Since I'm still very new and haven't had previous hospital experience, I'm starting out very slowly and only assisting the vet and the other techs with different activities. I am the primary dog bather though, and am good at that! :D LOL I saw the biggest puppy that I've ever seen in my entire life here at the hospital! He came in for a bath, so I was the lucky gal to give this hippo a bath! It was an 8 month old 155 pound baby Neopoliton Mastiff!! :eek: Talk about a big baby! LOL

Since I come from the computer industry, I just had to get my hands on the computers at work, and I made a nice website for our hospital. You can see it at the Gilroy Veterinary Hospital website (http://www.gilroyvet.com/). By request of my vet, I am going to add a section about interesting surgeries and patient updates. I'll have to put a warning on that part though, because I have taken some pretty graphic pictures. I haven't put that link up yet, but will let you all know when I do just in case you're interested.
I'll tell you about the "cottage cheese and gravy" cat in another post, but first, let's get this thread going? What has been your experience in Pet health care? :)
**hugs**

wolflady
09-25-2003, 10:24 PM
Does anyone have any interesting stories or insights to share?
:confused:

popcornbird
09-25-2003, 10:57 PM
155 lb?!?!?! :eek::eek::eek:

He's weighs more than me! :eek:

WOW! :eek: