PDA

View Full Version : Not very good news....

Cookiebaker
05-29-2003, 06:11 PM
Well, it's pretty official as of today, and it's VERY depressing. We found out about a month ago that as of January 1, Mark will no longer have a position in his job. The company is refusing to call it a lay-off and thus no severance benefits. :mad: On the plus side, his boss (who had NO say in this decision) is trying everything within his power to get another position so that he has another job at least. So if you think of it, please keep us in your prayers as the future has suddenly become unknown and scary. Thanks!!

slick
05-29-2003, 06:20 PM
Cookiebaker: I'm sooo sorry. Of course you will be in my prayers. I've been working ever since graduation (1970) and have never been without a job. Can't imagine how scary this must be. I'll keep you in my thoughts. Please keep us updated.

Miss Meow
05-29-2003, 06:32 PM
Oh no, that's not good. Does the company have union or industry representatives who can bat for the workers to reinstate their severance benefits?

Good luck and will be keeping paws crossed that he finds a better job quickly.

carole
05-29-2003, 06:42 PM
I can empathise with your situation , as we too have been there, my husband was laid off , no severance pay etc, from a well-paid job, we had to survive on unemployment for a short time until he got his present job, he loves his new job, so thats the positive side of it, unfortunately we had to take a huge drop in pay of around 12,000 dollars a year, but hey he is much happier, and as he is the bread-winner, i want that more than the money,except when i want MORE CATS BOO HO0,
So i know what you are going through, and its very scarey indeed, but hopefully for you as well there will be a positive side to it all, good luck and thinking of you at this difficult time.

wolflady
05-29-2003, 09:37 PM