PDA

View Full Version : Opinions Needed

Rhiannon
05-15-2003, 04:16 PM
Hello all. I am new to Pet Talk. I'm glad I found it, if only by accident.

I need some other opinions from other cat owners.

I have five cats, all feral (wild) born but now all inside cats, each one of which is spayed or neutered. Since my dog has died, they have shown more interest in going outside. At first it may have been to see where their doggie pal had gone but now they are very keen on the outdoors. They love to eat grass until they puke. An ever endearing trait, ain't it?

Trouble is this: There are masses of feral cats that live on my property. My neighbor feeds them, then I try to run damage control by giving away as many healthy kittens as I can catch (so far 40). We've been catching, fixing and releasing as many adults as we can, but distemper runs rampant. We also have wild fox and various birds of prey in addition to the occasional wandering dog.

I have been letting them out only when I am home and can sit out there with them, but one independant girl decided to take off one day and she came back 3 hours later with a rather bizare eye injury. So now I am all paranoid and over-protective again.

Should I keep them all inside, even when they ask to go out? Or, should I just suck it up and risk their health by honoring their desires to wander outside? They haven't been outside for any extended periods since they were babies and I'm also worried that they are now to ignorant about the dangers of outdoors.

They've all had their vaccines updated, but then one goes and gets a cat nail in the eye. Now she's got a punctured cornea with a portion of her iris prolapsing from the opening. He pupil is now an odd triangular shape. It's very funny looking! Aside from that, it doesn't cause her any distress.

K & L
05-15-2003, 04:25 PM
Inside ONLY is my opinion! We have 17 and all indoor only! Too many dangers out there.