PDA

View Full Version : Working with animals

PJ's Mom
05-09-2003, 06:55 PM
I'm wondering if any of you work with animals for a living, and if so, how did you get into the field you're in.

After we move next month, I have to start looking for a job, and I've decided that I would love to get a job working with animals. Sometimes they're so much easier to deal with than people! ;)
Trouble is, I've never worked with any animals other than my own. :(

Help. :)

jenluckenbach
05-09-2003, 07:14 PM
I am a pet groomer. Have been for 18 years. Truth is, I graduated form college with a B.S. in animal science, but decided that I wanted to groom dogs. (and cats). I actually started working at a shelter and then moved to the grooming shop that did the shelter's pets for adoption. What can I say, it's what I know and thrive at. But it is HARD! Don't let anyone fool you. And when you work with pets, you "work" with people too. And sometimes THAT is the hardest part. I wish you luck in your search and if you'd like to ask any questions, feel free to PM me.

shellonabeach
05-09-2003, 07:28 PM
jenluckenbach,

I am in the UK and in 2 weeks time will finish my degree in BSc Animal Science!!!

Ideally I would like to get a job involving animal behaviour, I am taking a part-time course in rodentology starting in September whilst working.

Realistically I think I will get any job I can and keep the animals as my "hobby" ie continuing to take difficult rodents and devoting all my spare time to them.

PJ's Mom
05-09-2003, 08:48 PM
A degree in Animal Science, huh? :(

I too thought about starting at the shelter, but I think the shelters are run by the city, and I'd have to become a city employee to work there. Also, I don't know if I could work at a shelter that wasn't no-kill. That would be way too hard, I think. :(

I haven't worked in 5 years and when I did, I was a substitute teacher. That's a far cry from doing what I really want to do.

moosmom
05-09-2003, 11:13 PM